Posted in Insurance

Health Insurance Radar

I’m flying under it, apparently. And not on purpose, either!

Back story: I’ve talked before about the fact that I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, which doesn’t really have anything to do with my ovaries. Having cysts on my ovaries, which are really unmatured ova, is just a symptom of this syndrome, along with hair on my chin, a seemingly inability to lose weight (Dr. Oz has gone on record as saying that for me to lose one pound is like the average person losing three!), wildly erratic periods (brought on my amenorrea, or lack of ovulating), all of which are actually brought on by issues with hyperinsulinemia, or WAYY too much insulin and an inability to process blood sugar incorrectly. If left untreated, I’m very likely to develop diabetes. However, I take medication and (somewhat, except when there’s Easter candy in the house!) watch my diet.

So, all that said, I have insurance, which BTW, was very difficult to get because of this, but that doesn’t cover anything to do with PCOS. No meds, no doctor appts, no tests, nada. They warned me about this from the very beginning.

Except.

They only make me pay for a co-pay for my drugs.

And!

I just got the bill from my bloodwork. Original cost (billing to insurance, of course, which is way more than they would bill to a non-insured person) was $503. My bill–after the insurance company told them “hey, you can only charge her this much!”–is only $41.42.

WHAT???

Thank you very much, insurance company that doesn’t cover my PCOS, for covering it anyway. (ok, except my annual check up at the endocrinologists. That they didn’t cover, but I’ll pay the $71 out of pocket that they are charging me b/c I don’t have insurance covering it).

One thought on “Health Insurance Radar

Leave a Reply

