Posted in Jim, Kids

Anniversary Weekend

Jim and I just celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary. Because Jim’s mom ROCKS and was willing to watch the kids for the WHOLE WEEKEND, we went away to the Poconos for Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Our house was in Albrightsville (a tiny dot on a map in the middle of nothing), but we spent most of Saturday in Jim Thorpe, PA. It was originally called Mauch Chunk (Mock Chunk), but renamed Jim Thorpe after a famous athlete (that I admittedly had never heard of).

We had a FABULOUS time. It was terrific being just the two of us. I love my kids–really and for true–but 48 hours without them and only talking to my husband was amazing. In less than 10 years that will be us full time.

That will be very weird. I’m going to have the whole “empty nest” thing happen to all four children within two years of each other. Very, Very weird.

Anyway, it was great to recharge our marital batteries and just be Jim Husband and Wife instead of Mom and Dad. If you have kids and have a hard time getting away (which believe me, I understand!), I urge you to find ways. Your marriage with thank you.

2 thoughts on “Anniversary Weekend

  1. It’s true, our marriages are the first to feel the brunt…it is so important to take time for and with each other.

    Glad you had a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

