Posted in Family, Jim, Job, Kids

Keeping Count

With Jim traveling so much, I find myself constantly counting (ok, he’s been in South Carolina for three days. That means we just have two more to get through and he’ll be home!).

The first three weeks with NH were pretty ok. Really. Then we had a week where he worked in PA, although we didn’t manage to see him that much. He’s working days at an office and evenings from his home office (which, by the way, is in the garage where it’s quiet!).  This week it’s SC and next week it’s NH again. We talked for literally five minutes total yesterday–a very brief good morning on his way to work and a very brief good night before I went to bed.

It’s starting to get more difficult. We’re missing each other–even just the physical presence of each other. I miss having his parenting to help out. I miss cooking for someone who appreciates it. How in the world do you single moms do this??

I’m keeping busy. Karate, bless its heart, is helping. We’re doing three times this week and next so Catie can test for gold belt. We thought she’d test next month, so we’re having to play a little catch up with the things she needs to know (Student Creed and 7 Home Rules). Hey, I don’t think I’ve ever posted the creed. I really like it (by now I know it by heart!)

To build true confidence through knowledge in the mind, honesty in the heart and strength in the body. To keep friendship with one another and to build a strong and happy community. Never fight to achieve selfish ends but to develop might for right. Pilsung! (which means certain victory).

I’m meeting today with a financial planner. We have a 401k from his old work, but need to start thinking about how to plan for the future now that he’s self-employed.

If you are a praying sort, please keep us in your prayers. I really miss my husband.

Leave a Reply

