Posted in Addiction, Christian, God, Me

Starting Off the Year with a Roll

Around my middle, that is.

I have officially gained  back every SINGLE POUND I lost over the last two years.  ::stamping my feet in a childish tantrum::  (does online stamping count as exercise?)

Bennett’s karate place has a small gym attached to it. I just left a message with them asking about the cost–although Jim is still not working we just got some Christmas money. Some of that is for the general fund, but some is for personal use. And losing weight and getting in shape is something I actually want to pursue this year.

Julie at Pragmatic Compendium has been doing a “Word for the Year” for a few years now. I’ve been letting it percolate for a week or so now and think I want to do it a little differently. I want to do a word a month for now. There are a few things I want to work on this year, none of which can be encompassed by a single word. So this month, my word is:  Identity

Yesterday Pastor Nate preached on it–how we don’t act on the fact of our identity in God (e.g. I am God’s daughter, God’s princess). If we REALLY believed in who we were in God, we would be completely different.

That spoke to me–especially in light of my recovery. I don’t consciously walk around thinking “I’m an addict”, but my actions often (especially when I give in to it) say that. If I am God’s daughter, it’s my job to reflect that, in thought, deed, recovery, parenting, relationships, service–you name it.

Also percolating in my brain is my reasons behind being involved both at church and at the community outreach–am I doing them because it’s “what good Christians do”? Or because it’s where my heart is? Or because I feel like God is calling me to them? Or…or….or….

I want to keep doing both, but for the RIGHT reasons.

So, to sign off, Happy New Year to you, my faithful readers. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope to see more of you as the year goes on.

One thought on “Starting Off the Year with a Roll

  1. Hi Multiplemom,

    Thank you for you post. I enjoyed what your pastor said.

    Also, I like what you wrote, quoting, “That spoke to me–especially in light of my recovery. I don’t consciously walk around thinking “I’m an addict”, but my actions often (especially when I give in to it) say that.”

    I’ve noticed if I haven’t dispelled limiting beliefs about myself, I feel discomfort and then nagging cravings for past addiction surfaces. They say that the body self-medicates itself with past conditioning.

    Well, all I know is that I must stay positive, especially about myself and remember I am God’s son.

    Thanks again!

    Dale
    http://emptydaily.com/devotionals

Leave a Reply

