Posted in Me, Shopping

Bargain

Back Story:

We built a laundry room earlier this year. My goal was to put in cabinets and a counter when we got the time and money. I found what I thought was a great deal ($125) on a 60 inch base cabinet on Craigslist and bought it with my birthday money (I know, I know, I’m such a rebel!).

We found out, though, that these cabinets were only carried by Home Depot and that the manufacturer was discontinuing them. I called every HD in a 50 mile radius (about 25 stores) and NO ONE had any uppers to finish out the laundry room.

The next day after calling around, I was walking through my local HD for a countertop. I was walking down an aisle when Lo and Behold! There was a display area set up with the very cabinets I wanted! I grabbed a person in orange who grabbed the kitchens and bath person, Dana. I explained our situation and that we really wanted to buy the uppers. If we had to buy the base cabinets as well….well, ok, we’d do it. She said she’d talk to the manager and get back to me.

Fast forward a few weeks. I hadn’t heard from Dana and knew the cabinets were due to be taken down on January 3rd. That’s pretty soon! I called yesterday and talked to the manager directly.  He said it shouldn’t be a problem, but would get back to me. Dana called a few hours later. We could buy the cabinets–just the uppers or everything, whichever we wanted. She guessed about $25/cabinet and I was thrilled.

We got there this afternoon and the quoted price didn’t match the real price. For five uppers $50. For five base cabinets and a custom counter $100. Bada Bing, Bada Boom!! We bought everything. The counter alone cost $300!! We’ll have enough to finish our laundry room and put up a nice area in the basement!

::Patting myself on the back:: Ok, and thanking God for his blessing of wants and not just needs.

Leave a Reply

