Posted in Addiction

The Closet

I liken telling someone about my sex addiction to a gay person “coming out of the closet”. It’s difficult to do. You don’t want it to be this big, huge deal. You never know what reaction you’re going to get. You’d rather it came up somehow in conversation, but it generally doesn’t so you have to artificially insert it there and hope it doesn’t devolve into an interrogation or shocked silence.

Outside of this blog, which, thankfully, is rather anonymous, I have told only a handful of very trusted individuals. I think I want to add one more. I’ve been developing a friendship with our new pastor’s wife (the pastor is new, not his wife!) and am starting to feel like we’ve come to a place where I can share it. I’d love to have “pasts” come up in conversation, which would allow it to feel more natural, but as I said above, it will most likely be me taking a deep breath and saying “when I was a kid….” and going from there.

So here’s my question to you, my dear readers. What was your honest first response when I told you (via here) about my addiction?

2 thoughts on “The Closet

  1. I guess I always thought of it as more of a man’s issue, but we are bombarded by so many images…we must all take all our thoughts captive to the obedience of Christ…

    And that means some things must be cut off, that’s all…and there are movies I can’t watch because they are explicit…and what is explicit to me may not cause another to stumble and vice versa…

    And hormones can be a strong nemesis, yet I truly believe
    no sin is worse than any other, except the unconfessed ones…

    If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgives us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. AMEN!

  2. OK…I think it was “wow, she is really telling everyone on here? How brave.”

    I wasn’t shocked or repulsed. Sin is sin, no better or worse.

    God will give you the right opportunity and conversation. He will provide the “lead in” to the topic.

    Until then…keep praying.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

