Posted in Christian, Jim, Job, Me

Where I’ve Been

So last week was one of those weeks where I was hanging on by a thread with every day busy to the brim. I didn’t blog, I didn’t read a whole lot, I just ran around and did stuff outside the house and tried to keep up with the laundry.

And I’m thankful that this week is ever so much quieter.

Last Wednesday I had the honor and pleasure of helping out at our local mobile food bank. Our area doesn’t have a  building where people can come and get food, so once a month the local Catholic church lets the food bank use their facility. A bunch of volunteers show up and a great machine is put into motion. I was one of those designated to “take people around.” They had tables set up in a big square. We grabbed a cart, took our family and walked around the outside of the square and filled the cart with food. I had SO MUCH FUN! (I even got chuckled at for being so chipper). The people, with one exception, were friendly, kind and grateful. I, too, was friendly, kind and just as grateful, although I didn’t receive food. I got to serve. I got to be “hands and feet”. And it felt WONDERFUL.

I have often said that I realize my greatest job is raising my children in a godly home to be godly and loving people. I get that. But, oh, to serve others was such a blessing. I can’t wait to do it again this month!

——

Changing topics, I am now allowed to talk about what’s going on. For reasons that I don’t want to go into, Jim has submitted his resignation. His last official day is November 5th. After that he is unemployed.

Yeah. It’s been a little weird around here.

Some days I’m completely fine. Other days I get just a LITTLE stressed. Before we had the kids he was in school and we lived on my meager salary and his part-time pay. But we had just rent and food and gas to worry about. Now we have a mortgage and four children etc etc etc. I know God will take care of our needs. I keep repeating that over and over. We’ve been blessed to never have to worry about where our next meal is coming from, although there have been some months where hot dogs and spaghetti were very popular. It was interesting to take a step back at the food bank clients and think “there but for the grace of God go I” and actually mean it for once.

As I paused to think of the next sentence, the phone rang. It was a recruiter!! Oh my goodness, how amazing is that?! I can’t call Jim because he’s working the polls, but now I can’t wait to go there later!

Leave a Reply

