Posted in Cleaning, Clutter, Marriage, Me

My Life, New and Improved

So I’m up at the Hershey Feeding Clinic this week with Ethan. I leave the house at 7:10 in the morning and come home somewhere between 5:30 and 6:00 depending on the status of accidents and traffic lights. Oh, and how fast I speed on Rte 283.  Shhhh!

In between arriving and leaving my day is made up of 15 minute sessions with Ethan’s feeding therapist and then 30 minute breaks. Except for lunch, which is a longer break. I talk to the other mom and her son, I help Ethan put in videotapes, I get out and put away toys, I read a book and I read magazines.

Lots of magazines.

My mom dropped off 6? 7? magazines last month. Normally I flip through and then throw out pretty quickly. Instead those puppies sat on a speaker for weeks, just waiting for Hershey. Ladies Home Journal, Real Simple, Good Housekeeping…all women’s magazines chock full of recipes, quick tips on cleaning, fashion ideas and, oh, ways to improve yourself, your life, your home, your amount of clutter and your marriage.

Some of them have actually resonated with me. I look at the desk I’m sitting at, which once again just mocks me with the piles and papers and who-knows-what-in-the-world-is-actually-under-there?, and feel the urge to tackle it once again.

I hear my husband hint that maybe marriage counseling might not be a bad idea and wonder which of the wise suggestions about improving my marital relationship I should listen to. And put into practice.

The one thing I’ve noticed, though, is that I get all this inspiration 50 miles and over an hour from home. Once home, it’s very easy to slide back into the old routine. Which obviously, isn’t working so well. Maybe instead of just reading, I should take some notes. And talk it over with my husband.

3 thoughts on “My Life, New and Improved

  1. Hi, I found your blog because we are considering a feeding clinic for my 3 year old son. Our dr said the only 2 he would recommend are Hershey and Children’s Richmond.

    I also went back and read some of your posts from when you were at Hershey 2 years ago. You have a great sense of humor!

    PS My computer is in a gully of papers and magazines, too.

    1. Jennifer,
      I cannot say enough good things about Hershey. We had to fight our insurance company for them, but it was definitely worth it. 2 years ago they got him off his feeding tube and this year he came home chewing real food. I don’t know anything about Richmond, but can definitely recommend Hershey. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

