Posted in Overbrook

Parents Day – After

I got to Overbrook, went to their “Blind services fair” in the gym, watched the kids in the new pool (Ethan LOVES the water), sat in on their spelling test and short geography lesson, and looked at the birthdays on the wall: 97, 98, 98, 99, 00, 01. Ethan is the youngest by at least 1 1/2 years! And I asked about other academic classrooms….there aren’t any. Of the 42 some odd kids in the elementary program, these 6 are it. Wow. I’m humbled and thrilled that my kid gets to be there! He got 9 right out of 10 on his spelling test (which he Brailled on the Brailler).

A side note about the Brailler: this is a brand new feature in our home. I just learned how to load the paper and how to use it and I’m tickled pink. Ethan is better at it than I am (no surprise there), but if I can at least do it I’m happy.

So the kids had lunch and then he and I left to visit MumMum and Grandad, drop off clothes for Nana, visit friends very quickly and then head home. A good day was had by all.

Leave a Reply

