Posted in Addiction

Recovery

Have I mentioned before that I’m a recovering addict? Yeah, I thought I had. Did you know that I have “gateway drugs” for my addiction–things that lead me down the path away from the straight and narrow and towards just falling flat on my face?

Nora Roberts is one of my gateway drugs. I love her books–she’s a very good writer–but I can’t read them. I’ve said this before, but have gone back on that several dozen times. Last week I read some of her books that I borrowed from my mom and yes, let myself walk away from the right path. On Good Friday no less.

::Rolling my eyes::

Gotta tell you, if I were God I would get fed up with me. But His grace and mercy continues to abound. Because Jesus paid the ultimate price for me. For Me. And for you, as well.

So I picked myself up, dusted myself off and jumped on the wagon again, riding away from the muck and towards the Prize.

Just found these this morning and thought I would share them with you.

The 8 Celebrate Recovery Principles
(based on the Beatitudes)

R
Realize I am not God; I admit I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing and my life is unmanageable.

Happy are those who know they are spiritually poor.

E
Earnestly believe that God exists, that I matter to Him, and He has the power to help me recover.

Happy are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

C
Consciously choose to commit all my life and will to Christ’s care and control.

Happy are the meek.

O
Openly examine and confess my faults to God, to myself, and to another person whom I trust.

Happy are the pure in heart.

V
Voluntarily submit to any and all changes God wants to make in my life.

Happy are those whose greatest desire is to do what God requires.

E
Evaluate all my relationships; offer forgiveness to those who have hurt me; make amends with those I have hurt when possible.

Happy are the merciful. Happy are the peacemakers.

R

Reserve a daily time with God for self-examination, Bible reading and prayer to know God, His will for my life and to gain power to do it.

Y
Yield myself to be used by God to bring this Good News to others, both by my example and by my words.

Happy are those who are persecuted because they do what God requires.

Leave a Reply

