Posted in God, Me

Other Lessons

I’ve been slowly working my way through James doing a bible study by Elizabeth George. It was definitely a fits and starts beginning more than a year ago, but I’m now doing it several days per week in my daily bible reading. Yesterday her lesson was on James 4:11-13. Her point was do not slander or gossip. She took us around the bible, to various passages that listed various sins, and slander was listed each time. She also had us read a verse or two after the lists, which usually had a “do this instead” message. Each time, the message was something like “Be kind….” and instead of just sitting there, I was propelled to get up, get a note card (I got two) and write this down, because you know what, Tina? This is important. Elizabeth might have been focusing on slander, but God had another lesson in mind.

Ephesians 4:32
Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

Colossians 3:12
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

Being kind is definitely something I struggle with. Not with the rest of the world, but with my own children. I get impatient, frustrated, short-tempered and unkind. And I really SO do not want to be that mom. I am praying now for a gentle spirit. I’ve always admired women who have that….godly women that love the Lord and seem to just live and breathe Proverbs 31. Believe me, my children don’t, as a rule, arise and call me blessed.

I started this year of trying to read my bible daily with an idea that it would be “good for me”. It’s certainly challenging me, I’ll say that for it!

Leave a Reply

