Posted in Kids, Menu Planning Monday

Our Little Scientist and Menu Planning Monday

This week’s menu has been incredibly tough for me, I have no idea why. The every week stuff fits in fine, but that’s only three days–the other four were just seriously tough. And yes, I know I’m having two ground-beefy things in one week, but I think I can safely say that chili and meatloaf are nothing alike. 😀

M: Spaghetti and Meatballs
T: Hot dogs, mac’n’cheese, carrots
W: Meatloaf, frozen potato product of some sort, carrots/green beans
R: Quiche, fruit
F: Take Out
S: Shrimp Pomodoro Pasta (recipe posted after I try it, but it sounds yummy)
S: QAD Chili*, cornbread

*QAD chili is Quick and Dirty Chili. I got sick and tired of all the steps of making “proper” chili, so I take 2 cans of chili beans, 1 lb ground beef (browned and drained) and 1 can of diced tomatoes. Put together in a dutch oven, probably mix in some extra chili powder and call it good. Jim and I both like it and man, it’s a LOT easier!

Onto our Little Scientist

Back story: two nights ago we went to Chili’s for dinner and Catie brought home her cup with ice in it and put it into the freezer. No explanations, just “I want to do this.” Ok.

This morning Catie got up, saw that it was, yes, still freezing outside. She put on her snow clothes, and informed Jim and me that she was going to do her ice experiment. Huh? Ice experiment? I figured, oh, she’ll put the ice outside and that’s the end of it. No, our little scientist got the cup out, broke the ice into two groups, put them on the deck into two piles and put salt on one group. Apparently they did this last year in preschool and she wanted to see if she got the same results that they did! And no surprise, she did!

But wow! For a five (almost six) year old, I was pretty impressed that she planned it out and got it done all by herself!

Leave a Reply

