Posted in Me, Parenting

Object Lesson

So, what did I read yesterday? James 3:8-12

8 But no one can tame the tongue; it is a restless evil and full of deadly poison. 9 With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God; 10 from the same mouth come both blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be this way. 11 Does a fountain send out from the same opening both fresh and bitter water? 12 Can a fig tree, my brethren, produce olives, or a vine produce figs? Nor can salt water produce fresh.

And what did I do this morning? Yell at my daughter and cut her down to size. Yes, folks, I can read that and less than 24 hours later do the exact opposite of what Jesus wants for me.

When I worked full time in an office I struggled with my tongue–with gossiping and just idle chatter. When I quit to be a SAHM, that somewhat went away because, well, there was no one to gossip to or about! And God has really gotten ahold of my mouth (not my ears, though, because they still like to hear it) in that regards. But yelling? And being sarcastic? And downright mean? Oh, yes, those are still alive and well and spewing their poison all over my children. Just yesterday I was asking God for a gentle heart.

It obviously didn’t appear overnight.

Leave a Reply

