Posted in God, Me

Happy New Year

1. Lose weight
2. Exercise
3. Get more organized
4. Read my bible everyday

Does your list look anything like mine did in January 2008? I’ll bet a lot of women have #1-3 on their lists. #4, well, I would hope that some of us would have that one!

Jennifer and Sheila both posted terrific blogs about new year’s resolutions, both of which completely challenged me with my normal short list. Did I ask God about what He wanted for me this year? Um, not yet, but it’s in my plan now! I think I can safely guess that #4 would still be on there. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with #1-3 either. I NEED to do #1 and 2 for my health. #3 would certainly make my everyday life easier.

But I could also see where He might have some other ideas for me. Staying completely honest with my Accountability Partner and going to her at the beginning of my struggling instead of after I have fallen might be one. To “act justly, love mercy and walk humbly” before Him (Micah 6:8) would probably be on the top of the list, because that rather encompasses most of what He wants for me anyway. To find out what that looks like in my life, and then to go out of my comfort zone and actually DO it. That’s the sticking point.

I have professional goals, as well, that if I’m honest I’m struggling with. I started my business with fear, trembling, and a little confidence that yes, I could do this. Once again, though, I’m back at the “is this the right time?” question. My family needs to come first. Taking care of and spending time with them, specifically. If I am able to find weekday work that is somewhat feasible. But weekend and evening work, which is definitely part of my profession, is questionable. Jim doesn’t have a problem with it, but I’m still wrestling. Which is a good place to be, in my book.

I would encourage you to follow the link above. Both bloggers are Real Women, both of whom I admire for their faith and honesty. Jennifer has certainly challenged me in my Protestant non-understanding of Catholicism. Sheila has a firm belief in the sanctity of marriage, family, and the tools to keep them intact.

Thank you for allowing me to take a short Christmas break from y’all. I hope I didn’t lose anyone along the way. I’m looking forward to 2009 and what it offers. May it be a hopeful year for you, as well.

Leave a Reply

