Posted in Me

Thoughts on 40

I turned 40 yesterday, November 13th. I didn’t make a big deal out of it in real life, and I didn’t make one here, either. 7/8 of me is completely fine with turning 40. Maybe even 9/10 of me! But there’s a tiny little piece….well, it’s just thinking about this whole deal being half over. I know, I know–I could die tomorrow, but I’m going off the whole “life expectancy” thingy. And that thingy says that half this whole deal is over. And that freaks me out a little.

I got married later in life than I expected to, and had children MUCH later in life, although I probably ended my childbearing around the time I would have if I had spaced them out! I have not ever (nor do I plan to) use my college degree. If you had asked me 10 years ago, when I turned the dreaded 30 (oh, how I hated turning 30!) I could never have dreamed what the next 10 years would hold.

And so, of course, I wonder what the NEXT 10 years will hold for me and my family. 10 years from now I will be a mother to, gulp, three 17 year olds and a 15 1/2 year old. Bennett will be driving. Laura might be, depending on the laws–they change every once in awhile! They will be seniors, thinking about college. Ethan will most likely be living at Overbrook to avoid the long commute (he’ll come home on the weekends). Catie will be a sophomore. I will most likely be working, although still home in the afternoons to be with the kids when they get home from school. (Jim says that’s when he got into the most trouble. My mom was always home, so that wasn’t an issue.) Maybe I’ll have stopped dyeing my hair and go gray. Maybe I’ll be actually exercising regularly. Hah. I doubt it!

I’m looking forward to the forties. I know myself so much better now, and look forward to using the gifts and talents that God has given to me.

Leave a Reply

