Posted in Politics

Election Day

Dipping the toe in, once again….

I had a friend post on Facebook that she will not be voting in the upcoming election; she cannot accept either candidate as supporting her views and doesn’t want to vote for the “lesser of two evils”. While I feel that McCain is the lesser of two evils, I don’t know that I can vote for him, either. And it seems to be creating WWIII in my staunchly Republican family. Please don’t misunderstand, I’m not going to vote for Sen. Obama. It’s either McCain or I vote in only the local elections. The one candidate I can really get behind, Alan Keyes, isn’t on our PA ballot.

I believe in the sanctity of the electoral process. 230 years ago people literally DIED so you and I could have the freedom to vote. And 80-some-odd years ago, women went up against an unjust system so that I specifically could have the priviledge of voting. I don’t take it lightly. I vote in all the primaries and general elections, and have since I was 18 (lo, these 21 years now). To not vote is something that goes against every fiber of my being. Yet I’m leaning towards it.

Another friend has chosen to vote for McCain, not because she likes him, but because she is 1) voting against Obama and 2) because she believes that God is in control regardless.

Well, I agree with #2, but I also believe that He’s going to allow us to reap what we sow.

Leave a Reply

