Posted in Me, Organizing

Houston, We Have Lift Off!

I spent a lot of this afternoon setting up my new professional organizing business. I got a federal tax ID. I registered with Pennsylvania for my DBA (doing business as) or Fictitious name, called our internet hosting company and set up a domain, which exists but isn’t set up yet, so don’t bother going there. I contacted my brother in law about making a graphic for me for letterhead and business cards and such. In other words, instead of just thinking about it, reading about it, dreaming about it, talking about it, I finally DID SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

Now I just have to work.

But that’s actually the easy part. I have two “jobs” in the next week. In return for using “before” and “after” pictures on my website, and getting general experience for myself and my “resume”, I will help some friends organize their particular area of chaos FOR FREE. I’m really looking forward to it. This week I’m helping a mom of twins with her kitchen and next week I’m heading over to a mom of TWO SETS OF TWINS (!!!!) with her closet. I imagine she probably needs me more than that, but we’ll leave that for later when I can be paid. ::giggle::

I’ve spoken briefly with a local organizer who has been in business for more than five years. At some point before the end of the year I’ll take her out to dinner so I can pick her brains (that’s her fee for our first meeting!). I need to head over to a NAPO meeting. They are the 3rd Thursday of the month. Guess when my mother’s of multiples meetings are? Yes, the 3rd Thursdays. But I kind of feel like my life is moving AWAY from that organization and TOWARDS the organizing persona. So I’ll get directions and head over in October.

I’m excited about this next phase of life.

Leave a Reply

