Posted in Health

Byetta

I started a new medication yesterday called Byetta. It’s an injectable. It took me the LONGEST time to finally work up the courage to actually poke myself. That part wasn’t bad, really. The medicine burned a bit. But my, does it work! It does a few different things: delay gastric emptying, regulate blood sugar, convince your brain you are full….all things I struggle with because of my PCOS.

Have I talked about PCOS? You know, I don’t think I have! Poly-Cystic Ovarian Syndrome. My body makes too much insulin, which inhibits my ovaries from working properly, gives me way too much hair on my chin (YUCK), makes it hard to lose weight, makes me very irregular, makes me at risk for Type 2 Diabetes….all sorts of charming things. I’m on Fortamet, which is a diabetic drug, already. That helps process the extra insulin, which actually really helps. I tend to picture all the extra insulin as covering my ovaries. When it’s used up, the work properly. Sometimes I even ovulate!

So, today I took another shot. Whew! I really can tell a difference! So far I’ve had:
Breakfast – Cereal
Snack (really late right before lunch) – Orange
Lunch – Chicken salad (made with light Miracle Whip) on a bun.
Snack (that’s now at 4:10) – A cookie. One. That’s it.

Can I just tell you that that is an incredibly light day for me???? And I wasn’t really hungry! It’s amazing how different I feel! So far I’m really liking this drug! Although, I gotta tell you, I wish it was in pill form. Really. But for now, I’ll suck it up and take the shot. And hopefully lose weight because I’m eating so much less! WooHoo!

One thought on “Byetta

Leave a Reply

