Posted in Kids

The Last Last Day of Preschool

No, that isn’t a typo. We’ve had several years of “the last day of preschool”. But today was truly, The LAST, last day of preschool. My youngest, Catie, has officially graduated and will be heading off to kindergarten in the fall.

I think with the youngest you tend to mark these things more often. Or at least, in THIS house, I do. With the other three, everything obviously happened all at once. They all had their therapies together. They all started preschool together, albeit at different places. And yes, with Ethan going to Overbrook more than a hour away EACH WAY for a full day of preschool, I cried. And cried. And then was so grateful that Overbrook was the awesome incredible place that it is.

But with Cate it’s a little different. I’ve said before that I have a different relationship with her than I do with the other three. Before I hear cries of favoritism, let me assure you that I love all four of my kids equally. They equally get on my nerves and I equally want to grab them and snuggle for hours with them. So there.

But I think because I got to nurse Catie, because she and I slept in the same bed for those early months (without Jim because SOMEONE should be able to sleep!), because I’ve had that one-on-one time with her, we are just closer. I look at her and I see me. Not just in looks, although that’s true, but she’s the youngest like me. She can sometimes get left out of the others’ activities because of that small age difference that makes such a difference at this age. 19 months, in the grand scheme of things, is a blip. A nothing. When the kids are grown up, that time will not mean anything.

But now, it means a grade difference of two years. (Ok, one with Ethan, but since he goes to a different school it doesn’t count.) And that’s two years of educational differences, game differences, even TV show differences. And I never want Catie to feel as left out as I always did. I’m 4 years younger than my sister and 6 1/2 years younger than my brother. I didn’t get to play with them. I don’t let Bennett and Laura do that to Catie. She’s close enough in age and ability that she can mostly keep up with them. They can take it or lump it, but she gets to play! So there!

So, congratulations, Catie, on finishing preschool and doing so well! I’m so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

