Posted in Kids

A Reader is Born

I love to read. LOVE LOVE LOVE to read! It was on my short list of requirements for a future husband and yes, he loves to read as well. We don’t often read to the kids–certainly not the 15 minutes/day that the experts recommend, but they see us reading a lot and we do read to them.

Yesterday Laura was at loose ends and I suggested she read a book that I got for her at a sale. She said “But it’s a chapter book!” I encouraged her that I really thought she could read it–it’s considered a Level 2, so it’s age appropriate. She started the book, asked a few “what’s this word?” questions and then took off. I found her later on, with her nose completely buried in it. This morning I had to remind her to put the book down and eat her breakfast. Now THAT’S what I call progress! I’m so excited to have her be “a reader”!

Leave a Reply

