Posted in Uncategorized

Lisa Samson

I’m re-reading Quaker Summer by Lisa Samson. This is one of the top three “challenge myself” books I have ever read, with the Bible and Irresistible Revolution completing the list. All three make me think. All three have changed me. The Bible is, well, the Word of God. IR is a non-fiction book about a man’s journey from selfishness to living totally for God. Quaker Summer is a fiction book about a woman married to a heart surgeon, the accompanying wealth, who is bogged down and enslaved to its live style. It’s her journey to a new heart and life and attitude that so challenges me.

Lisa does not write comfortable books. They are not what I call “fluffy Christian romances”. There is pain, grief, death, faith, challenge and lots of hard issues. I encourage you, my readers, to check out any of her books, but especially Quaker Summer, from your local library. You won’t be sorry!

Leave a Reply

